Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default How much homework is too much? High School

Just wondering what you think is an appropriate amount of homework is for high school.

What about an honors English class (not AP) on the block schedule? (Block schedule is when the students only take 4 classes at a time. So a a year long class only take one semester. And a one semester class only takes one quarter.)

I’m trying to figure out if I’m off base in thinking DD’s English teacher is assigning an unreasonable amount of homework (then gaslights the students, claiming they should be able to complete the work in 45 minutes and if they can’t, they have poor time management skills). FWIW, I’m an adjunct professor at a local liberal arts college, and my expectations for outside work is significantly less than DD is assigned.
    Last edited by georgiegirl; 09-27-2021 at 08:32 AM.
    DD (3/06)
    DS1 (7/09)
    DS2 (8/13)

ahisma is online now Diamond level (5000+ posts)

DH is a HS English teacher, I'll ask him tonight. In general, he only tries to assign reading and occasional writing assignments - many of his students have jobs, provide childcare for working parents, etc.

For context - DS1 is a freshman, in honors English, and I don't think I've seen him have any homework of note for English at all. He had to read a novel over 250 pages (otherwise his choice) over the summer, but that didn't seem notable given the timeframe.

What is the block schedule?

SnuggleBuggles is offline Black Diamond level (25,000+ posts)

That's hard to answer. I feel like most things were long term vs daily assignments. Like they have x days/weeks to write a paper or that period of time to read a book and do some related work. I don't recall nightly assignments. If there were long nights of homework, it probably was because there was procrastination involved.