Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    ♥ms.pacman♥ is offline Red Diamond level (10,000+ posts)

Default welcome to my pity party

hello and welcome to my pity party. 2022 edition.

(please don't quote me.) i've been actively trying to look for a new job since January.... and have just been collecting rejection and after rejection. i've applied to over 60-80 positions, all after careful filtering, review & consideration. i have a kickass resume that has gotten extensive professional review. i have several years of experience for the role i'm looking for. Yet so far I am collecting nothing but rejections. Rejection right off the bat right after applying. Rejection after zoom screenings, phone interviews. Big companies. Small companies. Companies where the role matches almost exactly to what I do now, i have the experience, where I don't even want to work at but a "safe" application for "practice" - rejected, rejected, rejected off the bat without a call. Then a couple weeks ago I had a phone interview that seemed very promising, and i felt the hiring manager and i hit it off extremely well, went into a lot of details of the role, the call ended up talking twice as long as planned and in the end they even told me I was the lead candidate for the role, they would be in touch in a few days. This would be a fully remote position, and would be approx 30% raise in salary alone, way better bonus, stock etc not to mention a role perfect for the transition I was trying to make. A couple weeks went by and so I reached out and then got response of thanks, but they just decided to hire another candidate they felt they had better experience match. Sigh