Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    anonomom is offline Diamond level (5000+ posts)

Default This is so much harder than I'd imagined.

(disclaimer: I know how privileged I am, that most women work their kids' whole lives, and that they all figure all of this out just fine. I just don't have anyone to talk to about this and I need to get it out.)

I'm coming up on a year back at work after 17 years as a SAHM, and I am exhausted. I adore my job and I'm incredibly grateful that I now get paid to work I had been doing for free for the last five years, but it's emotionally draining (I work in progressive politics in NC and, well, y'all have seen the news). 2023 was supposed to be easier than 2022, after months of 10-12 hour workdays before the election, but it's almost 8 pm as I write this and in the last five minutes two different members of my team have texted asking me for things. And because I had been active in this space before I got my job, there's no boundary between my work life and my life life -- my evenings, weekends and holidays are often spent doing more of what I just spent the workweek doing. The only difference is now it's my job, so I don't really get to turn down events just because I'm tired.

Meanwhile, I still haven't really managed to figure out how to go about doing everything I did before I went back to work -- mostly we survive on Home Chef meal prep and intermittent (expensive!) trips to the closest grocery store to grab whatever we need at that exact moment. My kids are basically being raised by school and netflix because I no longer have the flexibility to drive them places. And I just made DD2 -- my stoic kid who never, ever cries -- cry. I asked the kids to feed the cats and they started squabbling over who was going to take on the enormous effort of spending 60 seconds to open two cans of food, and I just lost it. She spent dinner stifling sobs, and I feel like pond scum.